FLP pays tribute to Pravin Singh

  • 2nd September 2003
  • 2003
  • // Display comment count + link

The Fiji Labour Party deeply regrets the untimely death of Honourable Pravin Singh, Member of Parliament for Tavua Open Constituency.

Mr Singh passed away at 12.10 pm today (September 2, 2003) at the Lautoka hospital where he was admitted after sustaining injuries in a car accident last Wednesday.

Pravin Singh was born in Tavua on 21 August 1955 to Dalpat Singh and Kanta Ben. He was educated at Tavua Primary and Natabua High Schools. He went to India for tertiary education, graduating with a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Delhi in 1980.

He was married to Vandhana in Gujerat, India in 1979. Their two children, both sons, were born in 1981 and 1985.

Mr Singh returned to Fiji in 1980 and taught at the Balata High School in Tavua for 3 years before taking up the management of the family supermarket business.

Pravin Singh was elected to the House of Representatives in 1999 from the Tavua Open constituency. He was held hostage with Prime Minister Mahendra Chaudhry and his MPs in the May 2000 terrorist take-over of parliament.

Mr Singh was re-elected from the same constituency in 2001 and was a member of the parliamentary Public Accounts, Foreign Relations and Economic Services committees.

He was also general treasurer of the National Farmers Union from 2001.

Pravin Singh was an extremely popular member of parliament who got on well with people of all political shades. He was loved and respected by people of all races in his constituency because of his ready willingness to help those in need. He was a generous man.

Mr Singh is survived by his wife and two sons, his mother, two brothers and two sisters.

“My heart goes out to Mrs Singh and the children at this darkest hour in their lives.

May God grant them the courage and the patience to withstand the loss of their beloved husband and father,” said FLP Parliamentary Leader, Mahendra Chaudhry.

May his soul rest in peace.

Mahendra Chaudhry
Parliamentary Leader